Just read an article about a 13 year old Ohio boy suspended from the bus for farting.  After I stopped laughing uncontrollably, I read on.  He is accused of being a “repeat offender” and that is why the action was taken against him.

Has society gotten to this really?  I am all for manners and not doing this sort of thing in public.  I also know that this is typical of the male species.  My mother-in-law used to tell my husband that he would have to marry someone extremely patient because of his “gas”.  I learned this lesson at a small intimate party that we had with some associates.  These weren’t people I could call really close friends at the time, so this was very embarassing.  We were all sitting on the floor talking when my husband let one lose and didn’t miss a second talking.  I am sure I went 20 shades of red and I had to keep repressing the thought of wanting to kill him after everyone left.  Instead I opted for a 20 minutes lecture on why that was embarassing and why he chose that particular time to do that.  Sometimes I think that farting is man’s last ditch effort at making one laugh after all else has failed.

My husband tells me, “I can’t keep it in, it will kill me”.  O.K. fine, but do you have to share your “life saving” experiences with everyone within 20 feet.  I think that women can contemplate this for many years and never find a solution to making men understand that it isn’t as funny as they think it is.

Then there was the time that some man left a memory of their life saving experience in the aisle of the grocery store.  I think I entered the realm of smell about 1 minute after his hasty exit.  Not funny!  It smelled so bad that I had to leave the aisle.  I also did not want to get blamed for that one since I was the only one there at that time.  That is worse than being the actual perpetrator.

I can think of so many more things that kids should be kicked off the bus for.  I won’t list them, but I do have a long list but as annoying as this may be it is a natural bodily function that has to happen.  How you handle that dictates your character for centuries to come.  I remember a kid at school that used to do this all the time.  He was nicknamed  “………  Everfart”.  I didn’t use his first name to protect his identity.  Everytime I see this guy, that is the name I think of. 

So if this boy wants to go down in the school bus annuals of being the dude that can fart at the drop of a dime, then I guess he will wear that stigma for the rest of his life; but I would have to say there are much worse things that a boy could do.  Much worse!

