I love May.  May is one of the most looked-forward-to months in our home. In our community, the men do a “Father/Son’s Campout” every year.  This is a fantastic time for the “boys” to spend a night with Dad doing what boys do.  This year all three of my boys took second in their division for “Donkey Kicking”.  Not sure if this is really anything to brag about, since I am not really sure what they actually did.  It was great to hear how excited my sons were.  They were even excited that their Dad came in second also.

This is such a great experience for the men.  The women, (me and my daughters) spend most of the time praying that it won’t get cancelled because of weather, because we get to party and play also.  We plan ahead for months on what we are going to do.  So to have anything cancelled is devastating to all.

Going out to eat is a must.  We try to try a different kind of food all the time.  Which after last year, I think we were banned from our local Chinese restaurant because we got on a giggle kick and couldn’t stop.  I am not entirely sure what was so funny come to think about it.  There was no drinking involved.  I don’t drink alcohol.

This year, the girls decided they wanted to go rock climbing.  What?  Did I hear you  correctly?  (That was my response)  I have never done this activity and not really sure to be honest if I had a desire to ever do this activity.  I am scared of heights.  In trying to be a good mom and take chances for the sake of my daughters, I went along.

I have tried many things for the first time on these outings.  For one, I had no desire to ever eat an octopus.  I have tried it and that is all I will say about that.  They are still working on me for sushi.  That will never happen.

At the rock wall, we had to get balet certified.  This frightened me to think that one of my two small in stature daughters would be holding my weight up.  When it was my turn to scale the wall, I could feel the heart racing and sweat starting.  I didn’t dare look up or look down.  Just when I thought I couldn’t go anymore, I glanced up and found that I was almost to the top.  I did it!  I made it.  When it came time to come down, I was freaking out because if my daughters couldn’t hold me up they would both end up being flat fritters when I came barreling down at 90 mph.

My daughter kept yelling at me to relax and just let her drop me.  Those are scary words coming from a child.  I decided to trust her and I came down.  It was a little bumpy, but I kissed the ground when I reached it.  Another “first” under the belt.

There is nothing like being scared senseless, eating at a mexican restaurant at 10:30 at night and completely laughing our heads off and then staying up until 1:00 .m.  scaring ourselves senseless again with a movie.  It reminds me of the MasterCard commercial.  It was priceless.

I now look forward to the Mother/Son’s outing in October where, I get hang with my boys  and do whatever it is boys like to do.   I am such a lucky mom!  I love my life!

