I am usually a very calm, patient individual.  I do have my moments though.  There are certain buttons of mine that can get pushed that NO ONE and I mean NO ONE should ever push.  Case in point:  I have been receiving some obnoxious phone calls lately.  By the way, I am on the National Do Not Call List which I have decided is somehow flawed.  I put this disgusting picture up to represent the particular company I am about to expose as one of the worst companies on the planet when it comes to certain selling practices.  If this was limited to only one incident then I wouldn’t post this, but since there have been numerous I am letting it all out!

So, I get this call it comes in as ADK on my caller ID.  I answer the phone and a women proceeds to tell me that I have qualified for a free drawing for food and because of that I also qualify for a free cleaning of furniture or carpet.  Now, the whole time I am thinking, ‘Wait, I never signed up for any free food drawing”.  When she was halfway through her spill, I hung up.  I thought this is a scam, I didn’t sign up for anything.

It kept bugging me, so I looked up the phone number on the Internet.  This particular company is Kirby Vacuum cleaners.  Carp hit the fan! (Carp/Crap it is the same thing)  I was so mad when I found this out.  I received another call from them again today which I regrettably missed because I was in the middle of an important phone call and couldn’t hang up.  One might think, “O.K. that is a little over the top to get that mad over a phone call”.  Well flashback a few years ago……

I know without a shadow of a doubt that dogs have the ability to sense evil when they see it.  When you live with a dog for so long, you know by that dog’s bark when the dog is extremely disturbed about something.  We had a collie (she died last year…may she rest in peace) who was the absolute best dog ever.  She never bit anyone, she didn’t even chew on my kids when she was younger.  Very gentle giant.  She was also a good guard dog and would let us know when someone was at our house or something wandering around the house, etc.

This particular day, I was home alone with my kids and all of a sudden I  heard her come completely unglued.  Now, this was not just the old run of the mill “someone is here” kind of bark.  She came unglued.  I have never heard her bark like that and never since that day did I hear her bark like that.  I seriously thought a mountain lion or something had wondered into our yard.  Shortly thereafter a knock came to the door.  I was very hesitant to open the door mostly because of the way the dog was barking.  When I looked out the window, I saw a car that looked like a car that belonged to a neighbor.  I knew that her son was terrified of dogs, so I panicked thinking it might be him and I hurried and opened the door.   To my dismay…..it was not this young boy.  It was a complete stranger.

When he heard the door open, he turned around and started walking back to the house.  At this point, he bent over to pet my dog and she nearly took his hand off.  I was so startled at her reaction that I just stood there wondering what the heck was going on.  He proceeded to tell me that I had won a set of knives and if I just signed the paper he would give them to me.  I stupidly signed and then he said that he wanted to do a demonstration of a carpet cleaner.  I had a bad feeling and refused to let him in.  He told me he would come back later when my husband was home.  I thought to myself, “Go ahead, but I won’t open the door”.

I forget about it as the day went on and later that night some of us were in watching TV and my daughters were playing in their room.  It was just about dark.  All of a sudden, my daughters came screaming into the family room telling us that some guy was looking in their window.

My husband and I both jumped off the couch and ran to the front room.  I saw the car pulling out of the driveway as my husband ran to throw some pants on head for the car.  I recognized the car as the same one the Kirby guy was driving.  We live in a rural area with roads going every which way and by the time my husband got to the corner, he couldn’t see the perv in any direction.  My daughters couldn’t sleep for weeks because it scared them that bad.

Now, I didn’t realize this guy worked for Kirby until about two weeks later when I got a follow up call from them about their recent visit to my home.  This made me even more mad.  I told them what had happened and that the sucker was lucky he wasn’t in jail after what he did.  I told them to never contact me again.  Some people need a dictionary to see what NEVER means, really!

These people are horrible.  They should be shut down forever.  Years ago as a teen, my parents had a run in with one that had been roaming the neighborhood scamming people.  He was telling everyone they had won a trip and all they had to do was let him demonstrate the vacuum.  Well my mother was disturbed about this and called Kirby and they said that they were not giving away any trips.  The man came to our house and my mom called him out on his lies.  This man got so mad at her.  I saw a side of my father that day that I had never seen.  This man raised an arm to hit my mom and my dad was on him so fast that I didn’t know what was happening.  My father is a small guy but very strong.  He physically had to force that man out of our house.  I stood in shock.  I had never seen anyone assault anyone, let alone my mother and then to see that side of my “gentle” father come out.  That does something to a kid.  I have never forgotten it.  At that point I knew I would never trust the  Kirby company no matter how good their products may or may not be.  So far my opinion has not changed.

If Kirby is causing their sales people to be like this they need to be shut down.  They lie, they manipulate and they are lower than scum in my book.  I just sent the company a very “forceful” letter since I couldn’t reach them by phone.

By the way, I never got the knives….probably best if you know what I mean.

