So today is my 21st wedding anniversary.  In celebration of this, I wanted to do something very special for my husband.  So I did my very best polygamist hair-do I could manage and did not apply any makeup.  I didn’t have one of those lovely dresses to put on, so he just had to deal with the PJs which happen to by my daughter’s Halloween costume three years ago.  I won’t go into it more than that.

When he walked through the door after a long night of work, I surprised him!  I think he was expecting me to be ready for school and hair done with makeup.  I think he was impressed that I could get my hair to go back to the large 80’s style I used to have WITHOUT hairspray.  I get props for that.  Other than that, I am afraid he was not impressed.  He laughed, but was not impressed.  I think he prefers the Steven Tyler hair I can seemingly pull off without a lot of effort.

Yes, I am Mormon but for that last and final time….we do not practice polygamy as 83% of American’s polled think we do.  Wow!  I am amazed at how many people hear things on TV that they think are real.  After not practicing polygamy for over 100 years you think the word would have gotten out by now that men of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints only have one wife unless they have left the church and started their own crazy thing thinking they can practice this within the realms of freedom of religion when it is against the law.

I will  tell you right now, my husband could not handle more than one woman.  I am plenty for him I assure you.  I am pretty sure I drive him completely up the wall some days.  Probably all 7,655 days we have been living together as husband and wife.

My husband is the best!  I would not trade him for anything in the world.  I consider myself lucky  that I found one man who would put up with my crazy antics and still want to be married to me.  In a day and age where marriage is constantly coming under attack or trying to be made into something that God never intended it to be, I am so grateful for the opportunity I have to spend this life and the eternities with my wonderful man.  He is a wonderful person and a good father.  I couldn’t ask for more.

As for the hair and no make-up….forget about it.  I find it ironic that God wants us to be humble, but these women are judged by height of their hair.  The higher the hair, the more righteous they are.  People know it by looking at them.  I would never want to be judged by hair whether I loved my Father in Heaven more than the next person.  That is terrible and it is degrading.  If this was the rule across the board, with my mostly flat hair I would have thrown into outer darkness by now.  My husband on the other hand can sport a pretty nice afro when he hasn’t had a hair cut in a while.  I wasn’t even sure that was possible on a white guy.

Happy Anniversary dear!  I love you more than life itself!

