My kingdom of dorkdumb just increased by 100 acres as of two days ago.   I have a problem with getting in “the zone” and nothing around me is visible or audible.  I don’t know if it is age or what, but it is seemingly getting far worse than I would think of someone in their forties.

I thought it couldn’t get any worse than what it did a few days ago when I put the plastic wrap in the fridge and the cheese in the pantry.  When one  does something like this, you might think…”They are so in love they can’t see straight.”  Well that is true but after 21 years of marriage you would think that the vision had gone somewhat back to normal.  Nay, nay.  I wished I could blame love for it, but I am afraid it more Alzheimer’s than anything else.

At school, Grooveshark has become my addiction.  When I am working on designs I crank the tunes because it helps me think.  It gets the creative juices flowing.  Right now I am listening to Jamie Cullum’s version of “Don’t Start the Music”.  Smooth jazz is great!  Anyway I just started learning Illustrator and I had Lynyrd Skynyrd cranked to the max. 

Unbeknown to “dorkdom”, I had accidentally pulled my earplugs out of the jack and the entire class was rockin’ whether they liked it or not with Sweet Home Alabama.

Now, I have not asked it if was O.K. if I listened to music while at school.  I have the mentality that I do it and then apologize later and claim ignorance if it isn’t permitted.  Needless to say I felt all eyes boring through the back of head.  I really wanted to try to blame the person next to me, but unfortunately no one was sitting by me. It was clear where it was coming from.

There was no one way to put the plug back in without being seen.  I would have really liked to have a camera on the PC to see the look on my face when I realized that the music was coming from me.  Would have definitely been Master Charge worthy.

Had I been the guy that sits a few computers down from me that happened to be listening to a training video and farted extremely loud, I wouldn’t have been embarassed because I wouldn’t have heard myself.  I don’t think he even realized it was audible.  I heard it and I had my earphones in.   He just kept working like nothing happened at all.  No eyes boring through his head why???  Because I am the only woman in the room that is why!  Men don’t care.  I really hope he saw  the “crater” he left in the chair when he left and wondered to himself how that happened?

