I met my lifetime quota for getting creeped out last night.  Needless to say, I have been up since 4:00 a.m. because I could not even begin to close my eyes after the following happened.

My husband works graveyard every four weeks.  He happened to start it this week.  I really hate it, but it is a job what do you do.  Because of him being gone at nights, I have a baseball bat, Walther, taser and various other items within arms reach of the bed.  Call me paranoid….

I have a daughter that gets up early for school because she has to be there by 6:30.  When my husband works day shift, he leaves around 4:00 a.m.  I am kind of used to hearing noises early and a lot of times it wakes me up.  My inner clock is still screwed up from daylight savings time, so I have been waking up an hour before my alarm clock goes off.  This morning, I was kind of waking up when I heard someone walking across the kitchen floor.

My daughter usually turns on every light in the house because she doesn’t like the dark.  She gets that from me.  Anyway, I could tell through my closed eyes that no lights were on.  I then heard the floor squeak at the bottom of my bed.  I had left a laundry basket full of towels there and thought my daughter was getting one to get in the shower.  My daughter’s dog that happened to be on my bed looked up but didn’t do anything. I waited for the light to come on and waited and waited.  I opened my eyes but didn’t look directly at the foot of my bed.  I had a light on my phone flashing in the corner of the room and looked at it to see if I could see a reflection.  I saw nothing.

About 3 minutes later, I felt the person walk past by bed and out of my room.  I lay there with my heart racing and didn’t dare move.  I finally turned over to see the clock to see if it was my daughter and it was too early for her to be up.  I then heard a weird noise that sounded like a cell phone ringer of some sort.  I stayed in bed for about 10 minutes, creeped out way more than I wanted to be.  Finally I grabbed my bat for the sake of protecting my sleeping  children and started through the house to see if someone was in it.

I tiptoed quietly hugging the walls so as not to be seen or make the floor squeak to alert someone to my presence.   I slowly checked all the rooms to find all of my children sound asleep.  I stood in the kitchen with the bat drawn wondering who in the heck…..?

As I turned to go back to my room, I ran smack into a chair that I could not see in the dark.  So whoever came through my kitchen missed the chair in the dark, but I did not.  Typical…  Gave myself a good knot on the shin.  I could not go back to sleep to save my life.  I was so freaked out.

When it came time to get everyone up, including my daughter whose alarm did not go off,  it was 20 questions time.  I was asking everyone who was walking through the house in the dark because they nearly got the carp beat out of them with the bat.  No one knows anything.  No one heard anything, no one remembers anything……..weird.   Really weird….

I have a son that is known to sleep walk, but he also sleeps with one of the dogs who usually comes running out of the room the minute his door is open.  But no dog to be seen anywhere.  Baffles the mind.  Hope I can sleep tonight.

